Officers/Board Members

President Joseph C. Cimino

ARPALER President Joe Cimino served 26 years with the Rochester Police Department. Among his various assignments, he worked in Area B Section, K-9 Squad, Tactical Unit, Special Criminal Investigation Unit, Administration, and Genesee Section. After his retirement from the RPD in 1985, he was the Director of Security for The Genesee Hospital until his retirement in 1998. In addition to his four years as President of the ARPALER, he is a security consultant, and is the President of the Kiwanis Club of Greece, NY and a Past Lieutenant Governor of Kiwanis International, He is also a member of the Free & Accepted Masons, Damascus Shriners, Executive Board Member of the Rochester Police Locust Club, and Past President of the Police Rosewood Club, PBA, and also serves on the Ontario Park Beach Program Committee. Click to e-mail Joseph Cimino

Exec. Vice President Louis S. D’Angelo

Sergeant Louis D’Angelo retired from the Rochester Police Department after 34 years of service. After his patrol assignments in Area C, Maple Section and the Tactical Unit, he was promoted to Sergeant and assigned to the Downtown Section. He was then assigned as Commanding officer of the Licensing Section of the Central Investigation Division until his retirement in 2008. Lou has been a member of the ARPALER since 1995 and is presently the Executive Vice President. He is also a member of the Rochester Police Locust Club and the Rochester Police Commanding Officers Rosewood Club. Lou serves on the ARPALER Major Events Committee, Visitations and Memorial Services for Departed Officers. Click to e-mail Louis D’Angelo

Secretary / Treasurer Frank DiPrimo

Frank DiPrimo retired from the Rochester Police Department as a Police Lieutenant in 2020 after 31 years of service. Prior to that, he earned 3 years of service in the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office and the East Rochester Police Department. He is a founding member of the Italian-American Law Enforcement Officers of Greater Rochester (ITALEO) and served 28 years on the Executive Board. Frank is married and has two sons. He enjoys fishing, scale model building and science fiction movies and TV shows. Click to e-mail Frank DiPrimo

Sgt Arms Charles Zona
Sergeant at Arms

Charles Zona retired in 1999 from the Greece Police Department as a Sergeant after 25 years of Service. He served as Road Patrol Supervisor for the First and Third Platoons. The last 5 years of his career, he was the Commanding Officer of the Professional Development Section.  Presently Mr. Zona is the Sergeant at Arms for the ARPALER, the Treasurer for ITALEO, the Secretary for the Greece Police Retirees Group and a member of S.O.A.R. Click to e-mail Charles Zona

Vice President Howard H. Merritt

ARPALER Vice President Howard H. Merritt was appointed to the Monroe County Sheriff’s Department in 1960 and assigned to Road Patrol. In 1967 he was promoted and assigned to the Criminal Investigation Division then retiring in 1990 after 30 years of service. He sits on the Executive Board of the Sheriff’s Office Association of Retirees (S.O.A.R.) and has been an active member of The ARPALER for 12 years. Howard is also a member of the National Association of Deputy Sheriff’s, C.O.P.S. Organization, and the 138th Tactical Fighter Squadron alumni association in Syracuse. He is a Past Commander and presently the Finance Officer for Law enforcement Post 1182 of the American Legion. Howard is a NASCAR racing fan, and a collector of antique tools, light houses, and beer steins. Click to e-mail Howard Merritt

Blue & Grey Editor & Public Relations Coordinator Anthony DeBellis

Sergeant Tony DeBellis, retired in 2008, after a 38-year career with the Rochester Police Department. During his RPD service, he worked nearly every section of the City and was also a member of the SWAT Team. He spent the last 12 years of his career assigned to the Criminal Investigations Section working in the Crime Analysis Unit and, most recently, the Major Crimes Unit. Tony is also a 28-year veteran of the U.S. Army Reserve and retired in 1996 at the rank of Master Sergeant. He is a past recipient of the Henry Jensen Memorial Award.

Legislative Watchdog Robert Murphy

Bob Murphy retired from the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office as a Road Patrol Sergeant in 2018 after 20 years of service.  Prior to coming to the U.S. in 1998, he was a Police Constable with the Suffolk Constabulary in England.

In England, he also worked as the Constables Branch Board Secretary for the Police Federation of England and Wales. 

Bob was President of the Sheriff’s Office Association of Retirees (S.O.A.R.) for 4 years.  He now serves as the S.O.A.R. Executive Board Secretary.  He has served on the Executive Board of ARPALER since 2019.  Bob is also a member of the National Association of Retired Police Officers (NARPO) in the United Kingdom.

Bob and Maggie have been married for 40 years and have two children, Patrick and Megan.

Bob enjoys Formula 1 racing, Gaelic football & hurling, and soccer.  In his spare time, he enjoys walking with his wife and reading historical non-fiction books. Click to e-mail Bob Murphy

Deacon Ed Giblin
Chaplain Deacon Ed Giblin

Deacon Ed Giblin served 24 years with the Rochester Police Department, rising to the rank of Captain.  He then served as Assistant Chief for the Brockport University Police Dept. starting in 2009.  In 2016 he was appointed as Chief and retired 16 months later.  Having been a Deacon in the Diocese of Rochester he now serves as Director, Office of Permanent Diaconate for the diocese.